100_4348

If we are ready for it or not, life does go on.  In the age of being electronically connected, be it Facebook, or Twitter, social media does have its place.  Some use it for no reason but to chat.  Some for getting their name out there.  Or their products or services.  But sometimes, we find someone who is  like US.  We seem to call that having “Internet Friends”  Knowing how electronically connected we as humans can be – it was nice to find a regular guy in a spotlight with kindness and compassion.  He is not afraid to say so.  He helps others and encourages others to do so too.   I had begun “following” him on Twitter.   Robert Irvine is a chef, and really an amazingly kind human being.  Shortly after I began following him, he passed along a message about a gal who is in a health crisis.  I only know her as Susan.    She is a nurse, but has Hepatitis C now.  She is also battling cancer.  She hopes to have a ranch one day, to rescue horses and other animals.  I have been doing this for many years and she enjoys reading the blog.  Not long ago she told me she focuses on the place here to meditate.  I hope it has brought her peace.

So, each time a new episode of Chef Robert’s current show is aired, Susan would “tweet” encouragement to others – saying watch Restaurant Impossible! and to comment on the show.  Such a bright soul she has. But now,  something that has come to light recently for me is this.  While we “know” each other, and I can say that about a LOT of  “Internet friends”, we don’t KNOW her.  I have her email address, and since my last email to her, there has been no reply. I don’t know how to find out how she is.  It is really kind of a desperate worrisome feeling.  It  got me sadly thinking, kind of like the “if a tree falls in the forest and there is no one there to hear it, does it make a noise” theme…….if she is really really ill now, and  leaves this world, will we know? We would like to know, but would we find out?  The privacy issues today, of Facebook or Twitter, or personal email accounts, much like the HIPPA docs we sign at the hospital, no one can find out info on that acct and I mean family, like next of kin.  They can’t close it, if they can’t update those who follow us along on the journey, what happens?

Nothing I fear.  I do hope that Susan has only hit a rough patch, and she will pop up again.  For an “Internet friend”, she is one special lady.  I wish her well, I send her peace and healing and no pain.

I hope we hear something.

