The friendly Great Horned Owl kid earlier in the year.

The friendly Great Horned Owl kid earlier in the year.

In November, we had horrific winds.  85 mph, which are hurricane force.  Sadly, the Great Horned Owl youngsters, who were 6 months old at the time, disappeared.  Now it has been nearly 4 months since, and not a day goes by that I do not mourn their loss.  I whistle for the youngster probably daily, knowing he is gone. At dawn that November morning, looking out the living room window, the wind was white.  And horizontal.  And HORRIFIC.  It was very  scary to say the least.  My biggest fear then was that one of the old trees would give up and crash through our house.  Those trees must GO this year.  I wondered how the owls would fare.  Then, as the days, then the weeks went by with no sign of them, it became clear, even to my mind (which was oh so much happier living in the “land of denial”) had to accept the youngsters were gone.  The parent owls, the speech impediment owl, and his wife – spent time flying around calling, sometimes loudly, sometimes busily, perching in different far off trees out of their usual haunts, all the time calling.  All the time with no answer back.

We were all very sad.

Tonight, I heard a strange owl discussion going on.  It is cold once again, snow is likely.  As I opened the back door, the booming voice of the granddad owl rang out.  He was perched in the owl tree above our house.   I stood still, listening.  Granddad and his wife moved a half mile away 3 years ago, this is only the second time I have seen him since. Much to my joy I could hear a young owl answer, “screeeeeeee” in the distance, calling twice. I couldn’t get into my boots and coat fast enough! I went out and whistled. The youngster I had helped earlier last year would whistle back to me. That young owl’s presence was magical. I whistled several times, no answer. The light pole on my mom’s long driveway had been a favorite spot for it to roost. I chanced using the spotlight and an owl was there! I stood in the dark, the sky pitch black. The stars and heavens brilliantly lit. I see a shooting star. Then above my head, from the pole, the owl flew, dipping down over my head and up to the owl tree. It never called back, but it was a young owl.  I don’t know if this owl is one of the two that were raised in the owl tree – or are related to the granddad owl. Either way, I am thrilled and blessed to have seen them tonight.

 

 

 

