Dawn over the sound August 2009 Port Orchard WA

That is just in case you wondered.  It seems that we are in the land that summer has skipped.  Even  spring has  remained absent.  No, we had 6 weeks of spring in January/February – more spring than we EVER get.  Now it is cold and drizzly in June.  I have seemed to have had the misfortune of moving during the month of May a number of times in the past.  It is of course hard work and always accompanied with much complaining about it being too hot in May.  Well, this May, not so much.  Or June thus far.

Lilacs 2011

The lilacs have bloomed, not as heartily as in some years past, but I am thrilled to have had them bloom at all.  I have of course taken many photos of them, and even cut a few small branches and put them in a vase in the kitchen.  Ahhhh!  But today I noticed the blooms are beginning to dry in places and turn brown.  Bye bye lilac blooms.  Hope to see them again another time 🙂

Beach sign in Port Orchard

Today I am somewhat melancholy.  I am missing the beach.  Wishing for what might have been if we had been able to get moved before now.  However, things are as they are, and we just go on, right?  It does not mean we can’t mourn for what we never truly had.  That is where I am now.  Letting go of things I never had.  Come to think of it, one of the songs my late husband wrote was  tentatively titled “Things I Never Had”.  How right you were my dear, how right you were.

**Sigh**

Enjoy the day all, and tell those you love how you feel.  Life is too short and regret should never be part of our vocabulary.  Enjoy each day, stop and smell the lilacs (or roses haha) and be comfortable in your own skin. I have to remind myself to do just that at times.  I have been busy writing/rewriting getting ready for the RWA conference in New York City at the end of the month.  Exciting times coming up!

