A cake.

Simplicity.

What do you need to bake a cake?  Let’s go down the list.  Dry ingredients.  Eggs.  Yogurt.  Chocolate chips.

Oh.  A pan.

Double oh….the counter.  The oven.  Oh, the HOUSE!

The neighborhood store.  What do you do when it is ALL gone?

The reality that so many are facing is staggering.  When it comes down to it, all we really need are the basics.  After the first report that my son caught after I had gone to bed, he woke me with the statement “in a few minutes, nothing will ever be the same for that part of the world”.  He is of course right.  I stayed up, watching live as it was happening video from a helicopter.  It has since been shown in pieces, and none of them have had the audio going.  The fellow, who I am thinking was a traffic reporter, was so upset that the audio just about rivaled the audio of the reporter watching the Hindenburg go down in flames.   It was the worst thing I have seen, that is since the second aircraft impacted the Twin Towers on 9/11, which I saw live as well.  So many disasters in the past years.

My attitude about life since caring for my dad and husband until they passed away is to enjoy each day.  I was ill from Aspartame toxicity for years, it almost killed me.  I have a partially fused broken neck.  I am lucky to say the least.  I get up each day knowing that.  But the images from Japan are not only haunting, it is the worst thing I have ever seen.  I have a friend from high school, she and her family live in Tokyo.  Thankfully they are safe, she posted an update on Facebook.  Good.

Now, since our flue fire scare, I had a glimpse of what life would have been like if you lose your home.  These people in Japan have lost so much more than that.  What got me this am, two reports – one a 60 year old man saved 9 miles out to sea.  Clinging to the ROOF of his HOUSE.   The other a woman who drove quickly to the small town where her elderly parents live.  Knowing they were too frail to walk away, she got there just as the water did, in time to see them swept to their deaths.  The water kept her in their home, and almost drowned her as well.

The scope for them is unfathomable.  I am staying away from television and only looking at the print reports online occasionally.  But it is enough.  It is too much.

May God help those left behind, those who have lost it all and are waiting to be rescued, or waiting for a bit of food and fresh water.  It is just beginning.

Looking at Haiti, New Zealand, now Japan.  OMG.  That about sums it up.

I enjoy what I have daily.  Today I was thanking the heavens that I could make coffee on my stove, being so happy I have my home, my computer, my family. My nutty kitten.  We just never know what is coming down the pike, sometimes literally.

 

 

 

