My oldest lilac tree in May a few years ago

No, the lilacs aren’t blooming today (but I wish it were May so they would).

The weather has lost it’s mind.  90 in Los Angeles.  Almost 60 here in Northeastern California in January.  JANUARY.  Good heavens.

The weather here is fickle to put it mildly.  We have lived here for 8 1/2 years or so.  The lilacs have not bloomed more years than they have bloomed.  Late killing frosts.  Very irritating.  Few things really irk me now, age and life has mellowed me.  Besides, what are you going to do? Put in smudge pots like the orange growers have in Florida? The ones they  light so the fruit growing on the trees won’t freeze? Might work on lilacs…….nah. Just makes me appreciate them when they do bloom all the more.

Heading outside to do some more chores, and enjoy the weather.

 

