Well, I would (and do) still say that.  However…..I could say the same for people as well.   We  are here on this planet, each one of us,  such a short time.  For example, it occurred to me that my house, built in 1905, is so much older than I will ever be.  Hmmm.   I used to be so hung up on “things” or “stuff”.  No longer.  Having lost so many loved ones close to me through the years, especially when my dad then my husband died…..well, it gives one a much different outlook.  I have had my share of health issues, broken neck, almost dead from toxic buildup of artificial sweetener in my body……it has been almost 4 years since I figured that out and stopped drinking or eating anything with artificial stuff in it.  I still have lingering problems, my memory is not what it used to be, my hearing suffered.  It aggravated my rheumatoid arthritis terribly and I am just not as good as I used to be.  But hey, I am here, working hard…….I am still  (I love this phrase) on  still on THIS side of the dirt !  So, that counts for a lot.  I stick by my mantra that “each day is a chance to do something different”.

**Sighs**

Yesterday turned out to be a full of writing day.  I am very happy for that.  I did some photo uploading and downloading, editing and posting.  I wrote a whole other blog and saved it for later.  I read the MSNBC news and saw that Barbara Billingsley, the actress who played June Cleaver in the television show “Leave it to Beaver” passed away at age 94.  You know the only time my husband took me out to dinner was at Billingsleys, on the golf course in Van Nuys.   I kid about the fact that I have never dated, I only get married.  That is difficult on some people, but it is for the most part true.  Oh well.  Life goes on, babies are born, people die.  There is  a coffee house in town, and they revel in putting odd sayings up on their sign board.  The best one I can recall is “Live life to the fullest. No one gets out alive !”.  How true.  As I sit here and type, looking out the window at the trees who stand at the edge of our property……they have seen it all.  Steam locomotive going past (there was a railroad line in front of this house many years ago, I am still finding railroad spikes and there are sections of track here and there on the ranch).  Horses and wagons.  Now it is semitrucks.  Progress…or is it really ?

I think what it comes down to is make of life what you want and need.  Simple things, buy that coffee you like, or those heritage tomatoes (well yeah, when they are on sale).  If you need new shoes, decide to get them before the weather turns nasty.  You are worth it.  There is not one person like you on the planet.  We are all special.  Unique.  Enjoy the day !

