You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 9, 2010.

Fireworks in the making or ???

Yes, another photo of the Puget Sound.¬† ūüôā¬† One day we will live there instead of vacation.¬† Not that there is anything wrong with vacations there of course !¬† I got to thinking about how we decide to make something a goal….. do you have any you are working on now ? I have a number of them and I work on them each day.¬† Eating right, working on my books, making sure my family is in order, checking on my sister……lots of things.¬† Some simple. Some not so much.¬†

In giving a concession to my poor “slammed in the big metal door toe”, I was sitting with my foot up, watching some television.¬† I was reminded¬†once again of how fleeting life can be. There are some givens with life, as follows.¬†

1. We all die. 

2. We never know when this may happen. 

3. Some know how (disease) 

4. Most of us don’t¬†

Thusly, I think of one of my favorite lines.¬† I have no idea who came up with it, but here it is.¬† “Life is not the number of¬†breaths you take, but the number of times that take your breath away”.¬†¬† Hmmmm, I have not typed that out before, and something does not look quite right.¬† Oh well.¬† I think you get the idea, right ?¬† Live in the moment, not where you hope you will be next year, or in five years.¬† Don’t be the person who leaves a special nightgown in it’s paper with the dear card from your husband……..waiting for the perfect occasion to wear it.¬† If you live like that, you may well never find that “perfect” moment.¬† Because the next time it gets out of the drawer is when someone is taking your stuff to the thrift store……Kind of an ongoing “bucket list” per se.¬† Being kind, living each day like it was your last ?¬† Those things don’t come out of thin air, they come from people who have faced their own mortality and come to accept it.¬†

Just enjoy life.¬† Enjoy who you are.¬† If you don’t like something, as long as you have another day –¬†you can change.¬† You can make a difference, if only to your cat or dog.¬† Or go out and help the world, whatever is your passion. Because we all have passions, it just takes some people time to figure out they have them.¬†¬†

Pay tribute to those that have gone before us by enjoying our lives NOW. 

I have a little plaque that I have had for many years, likely since I was 13 ? 14 ?¬† It is a quote from Fred Allen.¬† It says……¬†

“You only live once.¬† But if you work it right, once is enough”.¬†¬†

I have always liked that, it just took me a lot of¬†years and mileage emotionally to “get it”.¬† Now go out and enjoy your family, friends, pets, etc.

