Loving the skies

I do love to fly.  That is a big part of the attention I give to the sky when I am outside.  If I hear a plane, or the medical lifeflight helicopter, I stop what I am doing and watch them go by.  Usually low flying, we are only about 6 miles from the airport.  Since the tragic loss of our helicopter in the early hours Saturday – the sky is much less interesting for me.  It is so quiet. It is too quiet.  I suspected that the air ambulance company only had one bird and I suppose I am correct – or the other one would have made an appearance by now.  I do see the fixed wing plane they operate go in the direction of the big city……but it is not nearly as quick as the helicopter that was lost.  The company is privately owned, and I can only hope that they can replace that chopper.  Since they are the only game in town if you have to fly somewhere for a quick brain surgery or lifesaving operation of some sort….well, you get the picture.  We need that bird back in service.  

On an air ambulance website that is putting together a condolence book, there was a lovely quote.  Here it is.

When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always want to be.
                   Leonardo DaVinci

Totally me.  He knew what he was speaking of.  One of the very best days of my life was flying in a Stearman Biplane at our airshow.  Mom gifted me and my son with a ride.  We flew all over, and it was beyond amazing.  I kept yelling to my son, who I found out after we got back on the ground, that he thought I was mad at him “because I kept yelling AT him”………duh, I was just trying to make him HEAR me 🙂  Oh it was glorious.

The lure of the skies – the heros that we lost that day……….husbands, fathers, brothers, friends, family.  Each one made such a difference in someone’s life.  The lives they saved.  So many.  I understand how they can do what they did – helping people, loving flight.  There is a candlelight service tomorrow night, and we will go.  A memorial on Friday. 

I suppose that my love of the sky is what compels me to take photos of the sunsets and sunrises.  To fly at dawn is breathtaking.  To fly any time actually.

One of the first trainers who hired me at the racetrack passed away this morning.  He was a great trainer………a difficult man to know.  But he loved his horses, and his dogs – and he did right by both of them.  Rest in peace Robert Frankel, thoroughbred racing is better because of you.

