Everyone liked this sign........

Everyone liked this sign........

This sign was hanging outside our front door of the house on the water we rented a few weeks ago……very cute.  In fact, I was standing in front of it when I looked to the Sound, and saw the Lady Washington tall ship sailing on it’s way to the Port Orchard marina.  Quite impressive !  If I had my photos loaded on THIS computer, I would put up another one of that ship…….but I don’t so you get more chatter from me.

Funny how being more in control of the day leads to me not sleeping like I usually do.  I am not doing the heavy physical stuff now, and my sleep was on and off at best.  Leaves too much time to think…..and think……and think some more.  Or to dream. Since I am usually awake before six am, and there are times I don’t sleep well, I snuggle back into bed and rest up a bit more.  This is the most dangerous time for dreaming, which usually concludes with something totally off the wall, which I don’t remember except for some oddity.  Not funny.  It is just best to just get up and get on with the day in my humble opinion.

Today was good, got to town and back before the highway was jammed with travel trailers and the like.  Lots of boats of course.  I followed three rigs, and quietly wished them well on their journey as I turned off and headed down the hill to home.  Living on this road, it is possible to know what time it is, and discern between weekdays or weekends or holidays by gauging the amount of traffic and lack or presence of semi truck travel.  Kind of funny, now I don’t hear the trucks unless there is a reason for it.  Same as I don’t hear traffic unless it is going slow.  There was a speed limit sign at the foot of my driveway when we moved in, that one day while feeding the critters in the arena that fronts on the road I looked at and was thrilled (not !) to see it said 55 mph.  Six feet from the bumper of my truck when I am parked sloppily.  Gak.  One day they replaced it with a sign warning that there is a stopsign ahead……The next place I live is going to be off the beaten path, like where we lived before – off a road, back a mile on a dead end.  I have had more than enough of the road here.  There was nothing finer than waking up in the little house on the sound and going outside with the camera at dawn.  Oh yes, those photos are on the laptop.  I will transfer them soon.  This shot was a bit later than dawn, just such a pretty time of the day.  I have long admired Susan Wigg’s photos from her beach, and this time it was our beach – albeit borrowed, it was just lovely.

Tide on the way in

Tide on the way in

Something that was interesting was the way the tide would come in……from left to right…..making small waves as it crept up the shoreline. 

Enjoy the day !

