Really, I do, or rather I did.  Our neighbors have a vast farm behind us and it goes up one side of our place to the street.  Yesterday morning, they let their five horses out on that side……….which of course showed that my palomino mare was in season……..chatting up a gelding on the other side of the fence.  Which of course is accompanied by a lot of horsie yelling and squealing.  So, the neighbors came and took the offending gelding away.  So, at five thirty am, once again I hear the resounding tones of squealing horsies.  I get up, and see yes, the horses are back.  Oh great.  I get dressed, no more squeals.  I lie back down, fall asleep.  Six am more noise.  At this point, I give up, go outside, go to the hay barn, load the cart with my horses breakfast.  Trudge over, feed my Thoroughbreds and retired QH.  They are all calm.  My palomino mare is cruising the fence, and I can now see that there are only four horses.  The gelding is still penned up apparently.  I knew the neighbors have six horses, and in between yelling at my mare last night, the gelding was running the length of our place, behind our place as well, calling.  I knew he was looking for his friend.  When the neighbors came to shoo him home, they said the other horse is at the vets due to a cut up foot.  I knew it !  Horses are so very expressive, and it isn’t all that difficult to figure out what is going on if you pay attention.  I like that about goats too.  If there is anything within eyesight that would be deemed unusual , every goat will position it’s body and look that direction.  When I go outside and see them looking, I know to look too. Things I would not have picked up on  they tell me.  Loose dog ?  Loose horse ?  Coyote ?  SNOW GEESE ?  They tell it all to me.

Missing those clouds about now - nice rainbow though....

Missing those clouds about now - nice rainbow though....

Actually if you look hard to the left on that photo above, it is a double rainbow…..It seems like just yesterday we were complaining that it was raining or cloudy.  What were we THINKING ?  Oh how nice that would be about now. This photo was from the cell phone – and while they are not as crisp as my digital camera, they are not bad at all !  I have to download a few new ones from the camera.  I am still dumb about the fact that I am carrying a camera at all times.  My son was standing watching one of the old dairy goat girls drinking from a hose and commented to me ” Mom, you should take a picture of that”.  Duh.  So, I did.  Now if only I were as good at transferring photos from the camera to the card to the computer………will go do that now.

Here, it worked pretty well………..this is Sardi drinking from the hose.Sardi and the water

She is a LaMancha dairy goat.  Before anyone asks this (again), they are born with ears like this.  I do not cut them off !!! I have only had two people come here that actually knew the goats were born like that.  The rest asked that same thing.  I have friends who show these.  Her husband keeps a jar of dried pig ears by the pens, so when people ask “what did you do with their ears?” He pulls out the jar and says he makes THESE with them………eeeeeeeeeee. Then he does tell them the truth, that they are born that way.   

 Of course it was beautiful outside early, and there are these odd yellow flowers which only bloom during the day, they are just beginning to appear this season now.  This one was waiting for me on the way home.  I know I didn’t see it when I went over to the horses to feed……..

Morning flower

Morning flower

Better get to the rest of chores, have a great day everyone !

