Just like my first bus.....

Just like my first bus.....

OMG, I found this site, http://www.kombibroker.com/cars/01/1961-volkswagen-bus-vanagon-for-sale.htm  My first vehicle  was a 1961 VW microbus.  Just like this one, but mine was tan and had already slid down an icy road on it’s side by the time it came to live with us.  Bought for $100, with several rebuilt engines, I drove that bus EVERYWHERE, and I mean EVERYWHERE !!!!  From Santa Anita, to Hollywood Park, down to DelMar (where the first engine it was given threw a rod, and I was stranded on the center divider on the 405 Freeway for 6 hours)…..All over California we went.  We even slid down a hill sideways (not planned !) in the mud above an old ranch I rode at……they had torn down the upper barns, and I decided I could drive down to the bottom……it was a slippery ride, but we made it ! 

No cut up wheel wells ! Nice !!!

No cut up wheel wells ! Nice !!!

It was unique, in that it had sliding windows in the doors, plus the wonderful moving wing type windows, called windwings.  Oh I loved that thing.  This bus, which I will put two more photos below, is for sale.  For $17,500.  Wow.

What a cute face !!!

What a cute face !!!

Mine sadly went off to the junkyard the week I moved -I was pregnant and could not move it north……sob sob sob…..my poor bus.  I still hope that someone snagged it before the crusher got it.  It had lost it’s big VW emblem off it’s cute face and it’s original german glass tail lights……stolen off it’s body when it was waiting patiently for me to help it get to our new home.  I had to give up a lot of things, and that will always sting.  Poor Bus.  But when it comes down to it, things are just that……things.  Now I know I can do without a lot – and I was really happiest when I moved from place to place, 13 different homes in 2 years, all moving with my bus.  My antique bedframe, my dresser and all fit just fine.  Didn’t need anything more.  Oh , those were the days.  But that was before I had my son, before I broke my neck, before the Rhumatoid arthritis kicked in……..that was when I had an uncomplicated life.  Now, with age, and wisdom, I can wake up in the morning, smile and get on with things.  I do hope someday to have a bus like this once again………..

More paint scraping to be done, in the heat of the day no less.  Oh well.  Target for house painting remains Monday I believe.  Good, it will be one more thing done and off the list.

Enjoy your Saturday and find the shady spots !

Love this view :)

Love this view 🙂

The END !

