Since the power washing of the house incident – aside from the paint chip debacle, there also was the unintended flooding of the front and back porch.  Seems while the bright bulbs who built these additions were good up to a point that, they didn’t attach the flashing to the house.  Duh.  Fast forward 50 years, power washer blasts gallons of water inside.  It is just beginning not to smell wet in either front or back (obviously enclosed) porches.  Oh well.  Another added bonus I found was that either the noise or the water drove some large field mice indoors.  We have had mice inside several times, and the other night, I noticed something move under the chair in the dining room in the semi-darkness.  Looked big enough to trip over……..grrrr !  I have bait out, but last night was a new one.  Exhausted as usual, after eating too much yesterday, and then my son’s birthday dinner, I went to bed.  Didn’t make it through the ten o’clock hour.  Dead asleep.  Was awakened to my son calling frantically – MOM !!!  THERE IS A MOUSE IN THE TOILET !!!!!!!!!  Oh goodie, leaping out of bed and into the bathroom.  Yep, he is right there is a mostly drowned mouse in the toilet.  While I was looking for something to rescue the mouse, it switched from “rescue” to “recovery” mode.  Good thing.  Made the whole process simple.  Flush.  Bye bye rodent.  Aghhhhhhhhhhh.  Funny thing is that I fell right back to sleep after that happened.  Being tired will do that though, right ?

In looking for a house photo, I found this photo of my peacock.  Do you know that when they fan their tail out like this, they walk up to other birds (or aluminum cans, etc) and rattle their feathers ?  It is to attract the attention of the females of course, but that was something I never got used to, it always got my attention.  I miss this bird, he was just amazing.  I had two of them when they were three days old.  They would follow me around everywhere, as to them, I was the “bigger peacock, er peahen”.  Beautiful creatures.  Once they began to wander though I rehomed them to a family with 40 acres well off the highway. 

Enjoy your day !

My beautiful white peacock

My beautiful white peacock

