What a rousing cheer the ladies sent up as I let them out of the coop for the first time since the men were working here.  I have raked, loaded and rolled off likely 10 wheelbarrows full of paint chips, cut grasses and dirt.  The chickens didn’t comment, but I did find one of my barred rock hens gleefully pecking the paint chips at one point…….it is totally impossible to pick it all up.  Mom talked to the fellow who will paint the house, and when they come to prep it, they will bring tarps.  Thank heavens.  I don’t want to go through that again !  The house should be painted a week from today.

Last night, after falling asleep at an earlier hour, I woke up to hear the familiar (but recently absent) sound of the owls hoot hooting at each other.  It took time, but once I got used to them, it was nice to have them living here above the house.  I was smiling when I went back to sleep I think.

Off to town to pick up a cake for my son, since today is his birthday.  Stuff to buy for dinner as well.  Better get moving, enjoy your day !

