In looking around the place today, aside from seeing many more paint chips that keep falling off the house…….the most impressive thing is that the men have put the  ” gravity defying”  tree at bay – at least for now.  The limb will still fall from the trunk, but they removed more than half of it’s limbs and the dead wood.  This is the same tree that let a big limb  fall on my pickup.  The one that I had been cringing about parking under for years (6 to be exact)……to the point that I rarely did park under it.  I in fact had stopped pulling head in to the driveway, instead, I took to backing in.  So I could make a clean getaway you know ?  Which came when that limb fell at 4:30 am one morning, I heard a LOT of rattling sounds.  Then a “whump” sound……I went from sleeping to up, in my boots and outside with the flashlight before I could get my eyes open all the way.  Ran outside,  said something unprintable, ran back inside, got the keys, ran back out to the truck and since the tree branches were obscuring the driver’s side door, got in the passenger side,  started the truck, and floored it.  Out from under the partially fallen limb we went, and parked on the street.  When I got out, I was afraid to look at the door, or the hood…..or the roof.  But with the exception of the mirror on the door (which was no longer on the door, it was in a million pieces on the ground in the driveway still – DIRECT hit from the limb)…..the truck only had a few minor dents and scratches.  When I was walking back to look in awe at the limb……it fell the rest of the way.  Ha, good thing that the truck and I weren’t under it any longer !  I know, kind of  stupid, but it was going to kill my truck, and I need that truck !  Besides the limb was almost resting on the top of the cab when I went outside the first time, so it was not like it had a lot more to go………oh well.  I will have to find the photos of that incident.

Truck minus mirror after limb fell.......

Truck minus mirror after limb fell.......

Ah ha, almost a year ago that happened.  I found another photo I want to share from August 2008 as well.  I was attempting to take a photo of the lunar eclipse.  I got frustrated with the camera, I wanted to use my trusty Canon AE1, but the battery was dead…….but this was a good shot.  I love that we could see the craters on the moon.

Lunar eclipse in August 2008

Lunar eclipse in August 2008

Can you all tell how anxious I am to get back outside and work on scraping yet more paint off the house ?  My Rheumatoid arthritis is killing me, and I have about 5 other parts of me that need repairs…….bitch complain, sorry !

I did get my advanced reader copy of Susan’s book, Lakeshore Christmas yesterday. If only I could hold a book at this point…….my hands are on strike.  Oh well.  Time for lunch anyways.

Enjoy the day !

