Sunset over the valley

Sunset over the valley

As the birds cheep and flutter, either picking up dry grass for nesting, or catching bugs to take to their young, the sounds and signs of summer life are appearing.  The tall rye hay is being cut next door, and the stragglers that popped up in the yard are beginning to change from deep green to light green and light brown.  Soon, they baling will be done, and the new bales will be picked up and stacked for winter’s feed.  I have seen references to weather experts saying that perhaps this is the year without summer.  I know that near Seattle, the paper there ran an article advertising a mock notice “looking for summer’s whereabouts”.  I don’t know what this all means, but I will appreciate it if it does not get scorching.  After all, I moved from central California (where in July the year my son was born, it was consistently over 115 degrees).

The owls have flown away, doing whatever owls do at this point in time.  I am sure they will return in the late fall and winter here – they were interesting to watch and listen to once I got used to all the hoot-hooting.  The foster kittens are about ready to be sent to new homes.  I have two long haired black, one medium hair black, one short haired black, one Siamese.  All so cute, such good babies.  It makes such a big difference in their attitude to people when they are raised with people handling them.  Just too cute.  Have to remember to take the camera and get a few photos before they leave. 

Lots to do still today, moving a few goats and the two sheep from the front barn to the back 4 acres.  That is never a fun thing, especially since one sheep that nearly outweigh me will only throw himself on the ground and refuse to be led.  Which makes it necessary to put a collar on him, then link him to a broke to lead goat……..which is where Audrey  comes in.  Audrey and I race trained one year, many years ago……10 years ? I think that may be correct. Yikes, more disappearing time. Somewhere on this planet is a huge depository of lost time.  Maybe we can spread it over the glacial areas and it will repel the sun and save the planet.

