The baby owl

The baby owl

I am thinking that since the owls blend into the tree they are roosting (as you can see by the photo above) the smaller birds don’t see them at all……thus remaining surprised when the owl grabs one of them as a snack.  It happened yesterday, and the mom owl grabbed a young starling.  It made a startled TWEET and then all heck broke loose.  The baby owl startled and lost his footing, almost falling out of the tree.  The starling population went NUTS, fling straight at the owl, who flew off and had her snack.  A short while later she was back, sitting near her owlet.  The starlings cooled off after a long period of squawking and cussing, and then it was back to business as usual.  Today, the mourning doves are in the side trees, cooing their little heads off.  
The owl and his mom watch me when I am doing chores and seem interested in the activity.  I am soon to make my chickens coop into a chicken coop with attached runs.  That way, I can let them out to cruise the yard when I am there………the owls so far have been polite, but since I saw one of these types of owls snatch a full grown cat once years ago, I don’t trust them at all.  Kona seems to stay hidden usually, and I hope that will be what saves her too.
Tired tonight, don’t seem to have gotten much accomplished….one of those silly days.  Oh well.  Lovely weather though, about 75 and slightly breezy.
Night all !
