As all who know us can attest, we are going to move………..preferably sooner than later.  I subscribe to a real estate agents site, and she sends out whatever new properties on the search that have been listed – ones that are over 5 acres in Port Orchard.  There is a piece of land on the sound, looking to Bainbridge Island……..it is almost 5 acres.  It says it is in an “upscale” area, which makes me shiver.  I have three horses who will be with me until they pass on, finding a place where I can have both beachfront land and horses is looking to be difficult, unless one can spend half a million dollars.  Hmmmm.  How I would love to look out my kitchen window or sit on the porch and see THIS going by !

Ferry into Bremerton

Ferry into Bremerton

There are variations on the waterfront theme of course.  Wetlands abound there and that can mean springs, lakes, runoff catchbasins……..there is a piece of land that is 23 acres, and it has  8.5 acres of wetland, and looks like about 3 acres of lake.  A 2.8 acre building site.  BUT is there room for horses that will be acceptable to the county ?  Pasture of any sort ?  It is funny, no matter how nice your realtor is, if a person is not a livestock oriented person, they usually have no practical idea of what fencing is.  I have looked at parcels that actually noted “all fenced and ready for your horses” which in reality was old t-posts and field fencing topped with two or three strands of barbed wire.  Nope, might be ok for cattle, but it would only be ripped out and redone for my use.  Having seen the end result of horse vs. barbed wire or horse vs. t-post, no thank you.  Bad news for everyone.  We looked at a place that was supposed to be good for horses, and it was dog kennels.  Sorry, chain link is not for horses. Not even miniature horses. Loads of bad animal vs wire fencing stories lodged in my brain.  Ick and ouch  and sometimes resulting in bye bye critter for good.  Fencing is the only thing we have between our animals and disaster.  Worth doing right.

So, I am back to work on my novel, and look forward to getting it finished, at least until I can go back and edit the heck out of it.  De-stressing is so hard, but it is the only way to get through life.  Breathe deeply and relax.  Your blood pressure will thank you !  Or look at the lovely green photographs I took in July of 2007 🙂

The forest past the tree !

The forest past the tree !

We are having glorious weather, the lilacs are starting to droop, but the scent is still strong enough I can smell it in here in the dining room. (Yes, my computer is in the dining room, and yes we do eat in here !)

I am thankful for so much, and putting it into words is somewhat daunting.  Thank you to my family and friends who read this blog from my corner of the world 🙂  I am quite enjoying it !

