Well, both RachelAlexandra and Mine That Bird are settled back in at Churchill Down in Kentucky, bothtraining well.  While I was thrilled to see that Rachel win the Preakness, I could see her laboring, not liking the track.  Calvin Borel said that was the case, and of course we all worry about the long campaign taking a toll on these newly turned 3 year olds.  However Rachel is doing fine, a fellow I email with works for her trainer and so I  get first hand tidbits about her.  The Mine That Bird folks took another blow on the chin so to speak, Mike Smith, his rider in the Preakness, already took the call on a horse pointed for a race the same day as the Belmont………so he is committed to that horse, which means that Mine That Bird, the horse who seemingly gets little respect is again looking for a rider for the next race of the Triple Crown, the Belmont Stakes.  Must be somewhat bothersome to them, here the horse blows the rest of the field away in the Derby, gets a wide trip and is stopped several times making his run in the Preakness and only misses by a few jumps.  I really don’t think Rachel would have held him off had the race been a 1/16th of a mile longer.  There are a number of really good, qualified riders out there, and I know that with the way the horse trains , the condition he is in and the great connections he has, Mine That Bird will do well no matter who gets the call to ride him. 

The goslings settled into my friends just fine, she was amazed at how much they had grown in a week and a half !  I have a few foster cats here that are going to their new home this week hopefully, so that will be a few less to care for.  It is never dull around here, and when it is quiet, I worry about what is going on……..like children, when it is too quiet, you know that the natives are into something they shouldn’t be.

Many ideas swirling around in my head, but I am focusing on doing a children’s book with my friend Carol.  Of course my novel and the people in it were neglected in the last few weeks, so I sat down and actually wrote 12 pages……..which is really nothing, but it made me feel better to get some things down in print versus swirling around in my brain.

Lilacs 2009

Lilacs 2009

Oh, the lilac report for the day:  while the blossoms are fading, the fragrance is still wonderful.  Just wish I could click on it and save it, to open up in the heat of the summer, or in the dead of winter when all things cold and boring. Imagine how fun that would be to have a “scent” folder on the computer, click on your choice and then you would have the lovely scent right with you !  Perhaps in the future…………….

Hot yesterday, well relatively so, 83 degrees.  Nice today, still warmer than I would like for spring………it is so fleeting here, if you blink you miss it.  Summer almost here in attitude if not by calendar page.

