We saw the  mare, and while she is not in great shape, she is still there.  The fellow is not inclined to send her back to my friend either.  He did however offer an unbroke unhandled Clydesdale cross mare who is going to foal anytime……..just what someone needs !  A 1700 pound unhandled mare !!!!!!  Oh boy oh boy !  OMG what are people THINKING ?????  Of course this Clyde cross mare is bred to a crummy mustang stallion.   Ah yes, more fodder for the slaughter pipeline.  How very sad.  Mixed up genetics aside, this foal will be unhandled until he or she is weaned and big no doubt.  Aghhh.  Backyard breeders – there is no need for more horses.  Even purebred horses.  My view on breeding is only breed the best to the best.  That excludes broke down horses.  I don’t care that it broke down in training or in a race – or running in the pasture.  That it won money.  IT BROKE DOWN ! That a person paid $ 10,000 for surgery to pin and plate it back together  does NOT MAKE IT BREEDING MATERIAL !!!   That means it is 99% sure to pass on that defect to any foals !!! It excludes horses who won’t run or are too slow to be competitive.  That excludes aggressive horses or stupid ones.  Thus, I have never bred commercially.  Before I knew better, I bred my first rescued mare back, and that foal was fantastic.  Sadly I had to give her up, and I can only pray that she ended up lucky in a good home.  I however doubt it.  I had a good eye for young horses, and had a great time evaluating them at the sales here in Southern California.  My best pick ?  This colt was out of a mare I had worked with……….the mare retired sound and was really a tough girl.  He was by a horse known for hot temper and speed.  If I had $ 32,000 that day, I would have taken him home.  Instead, his breeder took him home to Kentucky.  The van driver had a fatal heart attack on the drive and the trailer ended up upside down.  They cut this colt out of the wreck, and he went on his way back to KY.  Came back out late that year and went to Charlie Whittingham’s barn.  Charlie was the master.  Patient and careful  with all his stock.  He took this colt and he won the Kentucky Derby that next year. He won the Preakness Stakes two weeks later.  He finished second in the Belmont Stakes to Easy Goer.  That was in 1989, and his name was Sunday Silence.  Sunday went on to stud and moved to Japan, where he became the leading sire many years in a row.  Sadly  his life was cut short, (once again by laminitis) when he was 16 years old.  What a legacy he left behind though.

1asundaysilence

Sunday Silence winning the 1989 Kentucky Derby with Pat Valenzuela up.

One never knows how a breeding will turn out.  With regard to training, I have always heard this ” a trainer never dies who has new two year olds in his barn”.  There is always hope that the one in the barn will be “the” one for a person.  I will always love Thoroughbred racing,  and I hope I see it recover from the pit it has dug for itself.  Off track wagering, slots and the biggest concern, the state of the Thoroughbred itself.  Long gone are the iron horses who could carry weight and run through six or seven years.  They are now fragile and drugged still in some states.  I hope the industry can pull together and correct itself.  It was once the sport of kings, and now the only kings left are the horses themselves.

