As I sit down here at my computer for likely the 10th time today, I find my self reflecting on the changes of the seasons once again.  Global warming.  Glaciers melting.  Then I look up the mountains and see the peaks, still deeply covered in snow.  Soon the creek will flow as the snow melts.  I felt a bit sad last night,  having been hopeful of being in the Puget Sound area yesterday……seeing the water again,  hearing the birds and boats.  There is just something so deeply restful in being near the water.  Since I grew up in the Los Angeles area, once old enough to drive, we could get to the beach whenever we liked.  I moved to the inland central coast and was still only an hour from the beach.  Now,  I am landlocked.  Hemmed in by the desert and the mountains.  It will be two years in July since I have seen the ocean and I miss it terribly.  However, at least, or at last perhaps, it seems that spring is making its bid to stay.  I could smell the grass today,  which was a first this year…….while the cheat grass had grown, it does not smell like real grass. Today I can watch the house sparrows gathering up old grasses and taking them away to build their nests.  So far, I have been successful in keeping the starlings from nesting in my big metal barn.  I love birds, baby birds, but having them 9 feet up, inside the beams,  COOKING when it got so unseasonably hot last year, made the poor babies abandon the nest and became catfood.  I picked up as many as I could, and gave them to another pair of parent birds……..but I hate to see any perish.  We have very old trees here and there are a number of nooks and crannies that the starlings nest in too.  Some kind of weaver birds craft hanging nests as well.  It is funny to find abandoned nests,  woven through with strings of blue or orange from the hay tie strings.  Must make strong material,  but not warm.  Birds are such industrious creatures and they are a constant source of pleasure to watch for me.  This nest was on a branch that fell this winter. Not a great shot, too dark.

Weaver bird nest

Weaver bird nest

My big hens are having a great time,  the grass in the front yard suddenly has grown and my tiny chicken “Brownest chicken in the world” is out there busily digging away looking for worms and grubs.  Only her tail feathers are showing now.  Can’t get a photo, there is a window screen and my son’s trampoline surround in the way now.  Oh my, our neighbor across the way, the ones with several hundred cattle just crept by driving his older Ford one ton,  towing his hay squeeze truck.  Loaded with what looks like 5 tons of hay.  SO glad that isn’t my problem today !

So far, I have raked, fed, done other odd chores.  Visited with mom and her kitten and cats.  Clipped deadwood on the lilac trees again. 

April 17 2009

April 17 2009

They look like they might bloom……..if we don’t get more freezing rain or snow.  That is always a possibility here.  Going to make lunch soon.  Drinking tons of water. 

Another 1000 words done on the novel.  Oh happy day when I can write without interruption. 

Enjoy your day !

