In the area we live,  the high desert, there is not much of anything green.  Well, in the past we had spring grasses grow.  As high as my thigh.  No longer though.  There is still an abundance of what is called “cheat grass”.  This stuff grows  very low to the ground, flowers, seeds and dies.  No matter if it is watered or not.  It never spreads, it only grows from seed and dies.  Small, tufty plugs of grass…….Some folks have it in their pasture,  water the heck out of it, and it still dies.  So, they end up with a pasture full of rust colored fuzzy carpet that was once green cheat grass. Then they ask around and plant pasture grass.   So, today, after I fed, and took hay to the goat barn across the creek (which is dry btw) my son comes up to me and starts asking why the grass in the area he has is dying.  I explain the above about the cheat grass.  He asks if he can water it and “save” it.  Instead of getting into a long verbal defensive,  I decided he could use the water for 5 minutes.  So, he did.  Tomorrow the cheat grass will be browner and I pray he sees it has done nothing to help it.

wildrye-and-cheatgrass.jpg 

Great Basin wild rye and cheatgrass. Photo by Ralph Maughan

Our new miniature horse is settling in fine. He has dropped some of the excessive weight, and is looking really good now.  He has a name now – he is Napoleon,  in honor of the old cart horse who befriended the Black Stallion in the Walter Farley series.  Nice boy.  Beautiful trot.  He will make a nice little cart horse one day.

I am covered in itchy dust, compliments of my minigoat Parfait dumping my long extension ladder over in the barn.  How a 40 pound goat who stands barely 2 feet high managed to move this ladder 180 degrees,  fully extended and drop it in the middle of that barn……….goats can do strange things.  Off to clean up and make dinner.

Have a nice evening all !

