I can see the beginning of a Gothic tale………”and the tall brittle trees groaned and swayed in the terrible,  fierce wind.  April covered and hid.”  Or should I say “Spring hid”.  Oh well.  Enough bitching and complaining.  At least the snow was fleeting and melted off quickly.  I had to laugh at myself.  When it began to snow hard,  with the large wet flakes,  I grabbed the camera and headed out to the lilacs.  Once there,  covering the camera to the best of my ability, trying to keep it dry,  I managed a shot of what I believed was a lilac bud covered in snow.  I ran back inside and previewed the shot.  Now wait minute.  What is THAT ???  While a bit out of focus,  that looks just plain weird.  So,  I left the camera on the counter, and went out to inspect the bud.  Hmmmm.  Nope, not all snow.  A fluffy down chicken feather (or perhaps a puff of owl down) was covering the bud.  Then the snow was sticking on that.  OMG.  Time to walk away, just walk away !!!!

The mystery puff........owl or chicken down ?

The mystery puff........owl or chicken down ?

Been working on finding documents and I was much relieved to see the ones I needed appeared in short order.  Tomorrow another trip to town,  to the Veteran’s office,  the bank and perhaps the animal shelter.  Whatever.  Things may start to look up,  and I can say it is long anticipated and overdue !

Here is one of my birdbaths and a frog yard ornament.  The house sparrows like to perch on the frog and preen after their baths.  Even in icy water they bathe,  because their feathers must be clean in order to accept the oil that they groom themselves with.  It makes them warm and waterproof you know…..

Snow on April 14, 2009

Snow on April 14, 2009

Not holding my breath to see what comes next with the weather.  Stay warm all !

