A tree Mom liked in Olalla

A tree Mom liked in Olalla

Today, despite the cold COLD wind blowing off the peaks and snowpack,  it does look a bit like spring may be making another play to get here.   In looking through the digital mess of photos I have,  this photo stood out.  When we went looking at properties a couple of years ago,  there was a beautiful old house,  fallen into disrepair.  On the property was the tree pictured above.  In full bloom,  just so pretty.  Mom really liked it.  Perhaps it was a dogwood tree, I didn’t know.  The property we walked,  and to my amazement and alarm,  while it was listed as 9 acres,  what the description did not say was that more than 3/4 of it was down a cliff.  Yes indeedy, a CLIFF.  Of course it was all nice and green,  ferns and the like.  But walk to the edge and look down……..down……down.  Likely 150 feet down.  Not one of those  “Oh ! There’s the car !  Oops, forgot to set the parking brake” drops.  No.  More likely, call the helicopter to pull it back out, or just forget about it.  Scarey !

The house, well that was another matter.  Quite rebuildable.  Sad in that the closests still held an obviously older man and women’s clothing.  Old styled furniture, what was left of it.  Vandals had been busy,  but so much of it’s original beautiful wavy glass was intact.  I still wonder what became of it.  Here is a shot of the house. 

Old Olalla house

Old Olalla house

and another one

What a porch !

What a porch !

While I love old houses,  living in my old house here has given me a different sort of appreciation for them.  I had lived for five years in an old house that had been updated and was safe.  This house not so much so.  When we do move, I look forward to having a new manufactured house.  Lots of electrical outlets !  Tankless water heater !  Most of all, getting mom settled into a nice place and get on with enjoying life .    Dreams are plans being formed I have read……..and I agree. 

Hope your part of the world is warmer than it is here today !

