Cast iron wood stove

Cast iron wood stove

Sometimes getting this house warmed up is …….well slow going.  I am happy if I go in the living room in the morning and it is above 52 degrees.  There is a wild range of temperatures that we deal with,  a few days ago it was almost 70 degrees outside.  Today,  I think it hovered around 48 ? 50 ? and the COLD wind blew continually.  Sucked all the warmth out of the house instantly I would say.  The photo above is of a stove somewhat like our woodburning stove in the livingroom, but newer and in production.   In this area,  I have seen several other stoves identical to ours for sale.  I have this mental picture of a couple of fellows with horse drawn wagons selling these to outfit the farm houses locally in the 1900’s.  I know that they sold the big trees to farmsteads that way……..and even where there is no longer a house, there are huge stands of these elm trees surrounding an area where a house once was…………odd and mildly entertaining information eh ?

Loads of branches down again.  Wind still blowing and I am done for the day.  Sleep well everyone !

