Starling

Starling

Well, on with the circle of life.  The starlings are busy…..and now I have to get the open beam ends in my metal barn closed off.   Last year they figured out that it is a good place to nest,  and sadly,  we had a terrific hot spell just as the birds were feathering out.   What would one do when living in a hot metal barn in the hot snap ?  Well jump !  I kept finding them on the ground and the local cat had a rather messy party with them.  Then I figured out that since we have an easily accessible nesting place,  I kept dumping the babies into the nest.  Worked great,  the parent birds were likely wondering when having to feed those big open beaks would stop……but they fed them all and they fledged and left just fine.  Huge crop of starlings.  I am NOT going to have that happen in the barn again,  I have raised baby birds on and off for years and then release them (minimal human contact) and they do fine.  It is however time consuming,  and knowing that the nest is available for any stray babies is a boon to me.  

I have gotten to wondering now about the owls.  They definitely have taken up residence in the old hawk nest above my house………they talk to each other all the time.  I am quite used to it now.  However the neighbor who had the large barn blow down,  the one where the owls previously lived…….when confirming that the owls likely had come to us from there – she said that they have local friends who had at that point owls with owlets in the nest.  I wonder if these lost their nest/eggs/owlets in that barn collapse.  I know that right away there were mating and apparently setting on eggs.  Wonder what baby owls sound like.  I think I am going to know soon !

Another pretty day it looks like,  enjoy it !

