Seattle Slew - Jean Cruget up by Kelly Stevens

Seattle Slew - Jean Cruget up by Kelly Stevens

Being still pretty dull,  I was trolling on eBay.  This is what I found…….here is the link.   http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120392092132            

 The wonderful gal who drew this print,  Kelly Stevens was my friend.  We met at her gift shop in Solvang, and I was lucky enough to stay there on Kelly’s Thoroughbred ranch for part of the summer.   While I was there,  she took delivery of this print.  It had a flaw and they were to all be hand colored as well, and hand signed by her – all 500 of them.   A lot of our time was spent in her studio,  fixing the flawed fetlock joint with a pencil,  hand coloring (water colored) the print and she signed and numbered them.   I had not seen this print since the summer I was there……..1976 ?  1977 ?   So long ago.  I sent the seller a note asking how he came across this one and another print he has listed as well.   I told him she was a personal friend of mine,  and if I had the money I would jump at the chance to own them.  While I do have a few things she did,  she was so funny –  she would give me things,  but never take my money.  She was adamant that I was so much better than she was even at my age……..and she said she would be buying MY paintings one day.   Sadly, that never came to be – she passed away from a rare form of leukemia about 10 years ago.   While I did paint,  my ventures that way had been halted pretty much due to the Rheumatoid Arthritis……..inflexible finger joints and pain.   Once I stopped drinking the diet Coke,  my flexibility improved,  but the fun kind of went out of it.   I always knew Kelly would give me totally unbiased criticism.  I did do a small watercolor of a champion racemare I worked with……..Lady’s Secret.   She was out of a mare we had in Wayne Lukas’s barn,  Great Lady M.  Tough mare.  They bred her to Secretariat,  and the grey Lady’s Secret was the outcome.   Very smart, good mare.  I never got to show the painting to Kelly.  I like to think she would have approved. 

Night all !

