Killdeer in creekbed last spring

Killdeer in creekbed last spring

Despite the odd name,  this type of plover lives here in the high desert in the springtime .   They are very shrill,  and the first time I saw them here I thought they were sandpipers.   There is odd birdlife here – for example we do have seagulls…….but small ones like are at the coast in Malibu.   The ones in the Puget Sound are HUGE compared to these.  Anyway, back to the killdeer.   These birds nest here,  arranging a few rocks in a circle and sit in the open.  Of course their plumage hides them very well,   and if one walks in the direction of a hen sitting on eggs,  she jumps up and limps away from the nest,  dragging her wing.   The ploy to lure predators from nest/eggs/chicks of course.   I first was going  “oh no poor little bird ! ” and followed it……then it occured to me I had been had.  Yep.  They have beautiful eggs,  and while I don’t bother them when they are setting,  I do find the used shells after the hatch.  If I can find the picture of eggs, I will put it below.

Killdeer eggs

Killdeer eggs

We are supposed to get a lot more rain…..then snow.  Whatever, as long as I can get a truck to the hay barn…….and right now that’s not looking good,  as there is a good 3 inches of water on the approach to the big rollup door.  Ick.

Stay dry everyone !

