Thunder "Big Boy"

Thunder "Big Boy"

Our horse Thunder is an older boy.  Physically, he was apparently broke down by hard riding and to thank him for his hard work, was sold to  a feedlot in Washington state.  Through a varied chain of events,  he arrived here thin,  and very ill.  He was to be here for a short stay, but the woman who bought him backed out and we adopted him into our hearts and home.  Mentally, he is the kindest most caring horse I have ever had.  In the last few days,  he has been off…….but today he was laying down again.  No sign of colic,   just laying down.   I don’t know what is going on with him,  but I do have my suspicions.  All his vital signs are normal, no temperature,   eating and drinking and eliminating normally.  I went into the pasture to see what he was up to,  just check on him.   When I got closer, I realized that he was sound asleep.  Then I was stunned to realize he was dreaming !  His eyes were mostly closed and moving around,  his ears kept swiveling about,  he was making funny faces and his mouth was moving like he was talking………his legs moved slowly, and his tail even twitched !  In all they years I have been around horses,  I have seen them sleep, snore, twitch, but never dream.  I quietly walked out of the pasture, closed the gate  and went home.  Of course it occurs to me when I reach my back door that my phone,  the one in my pocket has short VIDEO clip capabilities.  Another moment I could have saved,  but forever I will see his sweet face nickering in his sleep, looking so happy.

