My 1905 Farmhouse in 2006

My 1905 Farmhouse in 2006

Gak.  I am sure you are as tired of me complaining about this weather as I am living with it.  I know it is not just us………everyone I talk to seems to have their own special variety of winter hell going on.  At least there is not 4 1/2 feet of snow on the ground as we did have for something like 7 weeks solid a few years back ( when was that Mom?  was it the winter/spring of 2004/2005 ?)  Mom was in the Caribbean and well, we were in the midst of winter white depression.   One day on the way to town,  I realized the snow had begun to recede.  I mean it was OVER the tops of the tpost fences………and all the bushes were covered.  It was only white.  Everywhere.  So, on my drive to town,  as I crested Bass Hill,  I realized I could see the very tops of the buckbrush !!!!!!!!!!!!!  OMG !!!!!!!!!!  I started yelling in my truck to myself !   It is bad I tell you when one is thrilled to see buckbrush in any form.  It was always gray,  we never saw the sky.  If one drove up the grade,  apparently you could look out over the fog covered valley – but look up and see the beautiful blue sky.   I have never been weather depressive, but that was bad.  Locals here say if you don’t like the weather, wait 15 minutes.  That 7 weeks was definitely the exception.  Good thing or I would have just gone outside, pointed west and started walking until I got to the coast.  Ugh.   The photo above is our house.   I took this in 2006,  when the juniper by the front of the house was still alive.  It had since succumbed to beetles of some sort when I wasn’t looking and my neighbor cut it down the day that he and his sons cleared away and cut up the large tree branch that tried to kill my Chevy one morning.  Another story another time………..

My mind is whirling with ideas today.  On the docket for today is a trip to town hopefully for food and a few essentials.   I am trying to cook different things for our family dinners each Saturday,  tomorrow I am doing enchiladas. 

Hope you can all stay warm and dry today !

