The weather is doing it AGAIN. The last two years, my lilac trees got confused.  Totally and COMPLETELY confused.  They believed the weak winter weather…….and went and budded out to bloom.  Then bang,  we had a freezing rain, and they got killed off.  Bye bye gorgeous blooms………..TWO years in a row.  I am fervently hoping that they aren’t going for three…..and while I have been refusing to even look,  I can see that they are starting to do their budding thing already.   I love these trees,  and I so enjoy their fragrance.  It makes the air heady and just so lovely. 

Lilacs !!! from 2005

Lilacs !!! from 2005

 I took this photo in May of 2005.  I had a great time with those trees,  also using them as a backdrop of sorts for my white peacocks.  Observe…..

Peacocks and lilacs

Peacocks and lilacs

These were my pet peacocks.  In this photo, they are perched on the railing by my back door, sitting on a rug I had just shaken.  Went inside for a snack, came out and wallah!   Instant peacock perch !  They were very silly birds…… I got them as day old babies.  They truly believed I was the “bigger peacock”  and followed me around everywhere.  I loved having them here,  but as I have mentioned,  living on a 55 mph county road – well, once they began to wander and fly around I gave them to a friend who has 20 acres and no road nearby.   I look at these photos and miss them still………..one day I will have some again when I can have a huge bird compound for them to stroll about in and be safe.   The final straw for me was driving home I noticed something white near my neighbor’s house……thinking to myself ” what does he have that is white like that there ??”  Then as I realized,  I saw both of them getting ready to jump into the next neighbor’s yard (and he has a big dog…..) so that was that.  Made a call, and my beautiful peacocks left the next day.  Oh well.  After cleaning up various critters from the road here,  I just could not stand the thought of that happening to my big birds.

We were supposed to have a nasty storm tonight,  and while I type I am happy to report there is no wind – at least not yet.  Raining just a bit.

Time to get to bed.  Goodnight all !

