Puget Sound Fireworks

Puget Sound Fireworks

Ferry on the blue water of the Sound
Ferry on the blue water of the Sound

 The summer of 2007 my mom, son and I went and spent the better part of a week in Port Orchard, WA.  We were there for the 4th of July celebration.  Coming from a dry area (high desert)  the difference was startling.  I counted as many as 80 different places around the Sound that were launching fireworks.  Our hotel was on the water, and the “fireworks barge” was anchored right off shore across from the shoreline.   We were invited to sit with some other folks who had brought a huge picnic and lawnchairs.  It was the first time I had ever attempted to photograph fireworks too.  Not easy !  But we had a wonderful time, it was my first real vacation in over 20 years.   The area is so beautiful and we are looking forward to making our home there.  I  find that the thing I have missed most in living here is the ocean.   I had always been perhaps an hour from the coast anywhere else we lived……..here, well it is unreachable, perhaps 4 hours away.  The beach has always been my place to recharge my soul,  and after enduring the last 6 years, between husband’s illness and passing, and my varied illnesses,  I am ready to recharge permanantly !

