Great Horned Owl - Google image

Great Horned Owl - Google image

Indeed.

Tonight after feeding,  I had just declared to mom that the owls are not in the tree.   So, I walk home, and wallah ! The owls are in the tree. Yakking their heads off, and seemingly quite excited about something.  As I approach, it becomes apparent that they are playing tug of war with a dead skin of dinner,  origin uncertain.  I was quite relieved to see my chickens present and accounted for, as well as Kona the wild cat, who arrived for her dinner about the same time.  Such busy birds owls are.  Carol asked in a previous post what the owls would do if the hawks showed up to the nest, and I would have to say I have no idea. However,  in the years we have lived here, the owls come, but always leave after a while.   The hawks lay their eggs, sit and hatch the chicks.  After that, it seems like usually upon fledging the youngsters either make it to the flight stage without my noticing their time on the ground, or cats get them……….or like one year I ended up picking up all three of the darling things and taking them to a wildlife rehab gal I know.  She raises them and releases them back into the area.  Indeed, catching wild, upset foot and a half tall sharp beaked things………..with a bed sheet.  Just float it over the upset bird, and grab !  But be sure you wear gloves.  Once covered, they don’t move around, as they cannot see what is going on.   I would of course prefer to let them stay and do this fledging the way nature intends,  however we live on a very dangerously busy county road, which is literally at the foot of the hawk nest trees.  **Note to readers,  this bedsheet  bird catching  works well with full grown peacocks as well !  Just in case you find yourself in a spot with a loose peacock around**1owll
A photo of a similar owl in the tree, don’t know if this is one of THEM 😉
I have a lot of wild bird stories, and I will have to find photos of the birds to go along with the narrative.  Right now, I am going to head off to bed, it is very cold tonight, it did manage to snow some last night.  So, winter is making another stab at things.  Oh well,  at least this is manageable !
