Several  years ago, when feeding my chickens, I noticed a ground squirrel on the fringes, grabbing any seed or tidbit it could.  I never thought about chasing it away (it gets that enough from the ladies) and it eventually came to think of me as the feeding station I suppose.  He came quite close, and chats away, like he has come to the coffee group for a snack or something.  He was here for I think two years,  then I didn’t see him.  Since we had more squirrels, I think he was busy with the family.  Well, he is back.  In February.  When they are supposed to be hibernating.   Even the squirrels seem to think the weather is crazy (which it is, completely).  I have had people scoff at me about the squirrel amongst the chickens, but I like him.  He isn’t aggresseive, and my chickens would stop any funny business (I am regarded as the “bigger chicken” with them you see, so I fall under the umbrella of chicken protection from them all).  I saw him a couple of times this week, and then recalled I have a photo or two of him, he walks over my feet at times to get to the next bite to eat………he is cute, I like him, it is MY yard, and he can eat here anytime !

The yard squirrel

The yard squirrel

Enjoy the cold but spring looking day !

