Canada goose on electric pole

Canada goose on electric pole

I think this was in 2005.   A pair of Canada geese had flown in and one perched and stood there for about fifteen minutes.    According to the wildlife folk I asked, because we had such a wet season, their nest was probably  flooded and eggs lost.  They started looking around for a new likely spot, and this pole is adjacent to my hawk nest in the tree in the front yard, which is the next photo.  This is both geese flying overhead.

Fly over

Fly over

Seems odd, but I know if my house flooded I too would look for a higher place to live.  We have seen what is perhaps the same pair flying back and forth for the last 5 years.  The weather this year is so dry that a friend commented that the Canada geese didn’t leave to migrate, and there are loads more Snow geese than usual.  The planet is in upheaval, and the animals and seasons are out of whack altogether.  This last photo you may get the gist of the geese IN the hawk nest, after many fly overs and missed landings.  Need to crop and re-size, but I was happy to find these photos to share.  Never boring here !

Geese in hawk nest !

Geese in hawk nest !

